To content
"Study, Train and Gain Experience in Europe!"

Erasmus Study Abroad

The Erasmus program is a European Union success story and has been promoting the exchange of students and staff within Europe for more than 30 years. It is the largest mobility program at TU Dort­mund University. The exchange of students is based on Erasmus contracts, which the respective faculty has set up with partners at foreign universities. Students can therefore use their faculty cooperationa to study for one or two semesters abroad.

"Im Ausland studieren mit Erasmus #kurzerklärt" (video by the DAAD, in German)

TU Dort­mund University students can apply if...

  • they want to study abroad in one of the 34 participating program countries,
  • they are regularly/fully enrolled at TU Dort­mund University,
  • they have completed the first year of their studies (Bachelor's degree) or they are in the Master's degree program (from the first semester),
  • the faculty and the host university have set up an Erasmus cooperation agreement.

Students receive...

  • financial grants for their study abroad (depending on the destination),
  • academic recognition of courses studied abroad,
  • an exemption from tuition, registration, examination, laboratory and library fees at the host university,
  • support in the preparation and implementation of the study abroad (cultural, linguistic, organizational),
  • an Erasmus-sponsored online language course through Online Lingustic Support (OLS) (if applicable),
  • grants for a study abroad with a child(ren) (if applicable),
  • grants for special needs (if applicable)

27 Member States of the European Union (EU)

Belgium | Bulgaria | Denmark | Germany | Estonia | Finland | France | Greece | Ireland | Italy | Croatia | Latvia | Lithuania | Luxembourg | Malta | Netherlands | Austria | Poland | Portugal | Romania | Sweden | Slovakia | Slovenia | Spain | Czech Republic | Hungary | Cyprus

7 Countries outside the EU

Iceland | Liechtenstein | Northern Macedonia | Norway | Serbia | Turkey | United Kingdom

Although Switzerland no longer participates in the Erasmus program, bilateral exchanges are still possible and are supported by the Swiss side.

The Erasmus funding is divided by the DAAD into three groups of countries:

Country group 1: 450 EUR per month

Denmark | Finland | Ireland | Iceland | Liechtenstein | Luxembourg | Norway | Sweden | United Kingdom

Country group 2: 390 EUR per month

Belgium | France | Greece | Italy | Malta | Netherlands | Austria | Portugal | Spain | Cyprus

Country group 3: 330 EUR per month

Bulgaria | Estonia | Croatia | Latvia | Lithuania | Poland | Romania | Slovakia | Slovenia | Macedonia (FYROM) | Serbia | Czech Republic | Turkey | Hungary

Students with special needs/disabilities or students who would like to study abroad with their child(ren) have the possibility to receive additional funding.

  • The length of your stay depends on the months agreed upon in the cooperation contract between your faculty and the host university.
  • An Erasmus study visit can last between 90 days and 12 months.
  • The mobility must take place within one academic year (e.g. winter semester 2020/2021 and/or summer semester 2021)
    • Start of mobility: first day of courses/orientation event
    • End of mobility: last day of courses/examination
  • In total, students can receive funding for up to 36 months for studies and/or internships
    • up to 12 months in Bachelor's, Master's and doctoral programs,
    • the grant can be split and used several times within a study cycle (e.g. twice for six months)
  • Erasmus also allows a combination of studies and internships

Coordination Erasmus Outgoings (Study Abroad)


To event list

Location & approach

The campus of TU Dort­mund University is located close to interstate junction Dort­mund West, where the Sauerlandlinie A 45 (Frankfurt-Dort­mund) crosses the Ruhrschnellweg B 1 / A 40. The best interstate exit to take from A 45 is "Dort­mund-Eichlinghofen" (closer to Campus Süd), and from B 1 / A 40 "Dort­mund-Dorstfeld" (closer to Campus Nord). Signs for the uni­ver­si­ty are located at both exits. Also, there is a new exit before you pass over the B 1-bridge leading into Dort­mund.

To get from Campus Nord to Campus Süd by car, there is the connection via Vogelpothsweg/Baroper Straße. We recommend you leave your car on one of the parking lots at Campus Nord and use the H-Bahn (suspended monorail system), which conveniently connects the two campuses.


TU Dort­mund University has its own train station ("Dort­mund Uni­ver­si­tät"). From there, suburban trains (S-Bahn) leave for Dort­mund main station ("Dort­mund Hauptbahnhof") and Düsseldorf main station via the "Düsseldorf Airport Train Station" (take S-Bahn number 1, which leaves every 20 or 30 minutes). The uni­ver­si­ty is easily reached from Bochum, Essen, Mülheim an der Ruhr and Duisburg.

You can also take the bus or subway train from Dort­mund city to the uni­ver­si­ty: From Dort­mund main station, you can take any train bound for the Station "Stadtgarten", usually lines U41, U45, U 47 and U49. At "Stadtgarten" you switch trains and get on line U42 towards "Hombruch". Look out for the Station "An der Palmweide". From the bus stop just across the road, busses bound for TU Dort­mund University leave every ten minutes (445, 447 and 462). Another option is to take the subway routes U41, U45, U47 and U49 from Dort­mund main station to the stop "Dort­mund Kampstraße". From there, take U43 or U44 to the stop "Dort­mund Wittener Straße". Switch to bus line 447 and get off at "Dort­mund Uni­ver­si­tät S".


The H-Bahn is one of the hallmarks of TU Dort­mund University. There are two stations on Campus Nord. One ("Dort­mund Uni­ver­si­tät S") is directly located at the suburban train stop, which connects the uni­ver­si­ty directly with the city of Dort­mund and the rest of the Ruhr Area. Also from this station, there are connections to the "Technologiepark" and (via Campus Süd) Eichlinghofen. The other station is located at the dining hall at Campus Nord and offers a direct connection to Campus Süd every five minutes.


The AirportExpress is a fast and convenient means of transport from Dort­mund Airport (DTM) to Dort­mund Central Station, taking you there in little more than 20 minutes. From Dort­mund Central Station, you can continue to the university campus by interurban railway (S-Bahn). A larger range of in­ter­na­tio­nal flight connections is offered at Düsseldorf Airport (DUS), which is about 60 kilometres away and can be directly reached by S-Bahn from the university station.


The facilities of TU Dort­mund University are spread over two campuses, the larger Campus North and the smaller Campus South. Additionally, some areas of the university are located in the adjacent "Technologiepark".

Site Map of TU Dort­mund University (Second Page in English)