To content
Prize for for highly qualified young academics

Rudolf Chau­doire Prize

Rudolf Chaudoire was an entrepreneur and industrialist from the Ruhr area who was especially committed to supporting young people’s vocational education. Named after him, the Rudolf Chaudoire Foundation was established by testamentary decree to support young academics and their research. Since 1995, the Rudolf Chaudoire Prize is awarded to exceptional academics at TU Dortmund University.

Picture of an event hall © Jürgen Huhn​/​TU Dortmund

Call for Proposals

We are pleased to announce, that the Rudolf-Chaudoire Prize will be awarded in 2022. 

The Rudolf Chaudoire Prize is intended to support research stays for highly qualified young academics of TU Dortmund University, typically with a doctoral degree, at a university or research facility abroad. The  dissertation should not be completed more than five years ago. The total costs for the research stay have to exceed € 5,000.


The submission deadline for proposals was 30 April 2022.

[Translate to English:] © [Translate to English:]
[Translate to English:]

Rudolf Chaudoire Prize 2021

In 2021, Dr.-Ing. Alexander Engelmann from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology has been awarded the Rudolf Chaudoire Prize as an outstanding young academic at TU Dortmund University. The prize money of 5,000 euros will allow Dr.-Ing. Engelmann from the Institute for Energy Systems, Energy Efficiency and Energy Economics to spend a research stay at the University of Wisconsin Madison (USA)

Impressions from the Award Ceremony 2021

The award winner Dr.-Ing. Alexander Engelmann describes his research.
A string quartet accompanies the festive event.
Vice President Research Prof. Nele McElvany and the representative of the Rudolf Chaudoire Foundation Dr. Gert Fischer hand over the certificate.